Skip to content

Smith’s Dictionary: Hell

April 30, 2010

The only theological doctrine for which we have concrete proof.

(See Twitter hashtag #ISJ for replies, or leave your own definition here.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. cbc permalink
    April 30, 2010 3:43 pm

    I’m sympathetic to Sartre’s definition: Hell is…other people.

  2. May 16, 2010 4:51 pm

    Of course I have to ask, what proof are you referring to?

    I have a hard time defining “hell” as anything other than a socially understood reference to “the absolute worst [place, thing, person, experience, etc.] ever.” I’m not sure I can think of a serious definition beyond that, because I’m used to the word’s meaning being tied to the Christian belief of hell as punishment, which I no longer believe in. As a result, I’m not really able to take the word seriously anymore. I am interested in the Twitter replies. There are a lot of different ways to define “hell.”

  3. innocentsmithjournal permalink*
    May 16, 2010 5:21 pm

    What I meant was simply that we know hell exists because many on earth are already experiencing it.

Leave a comment